The Day I Decided to Not Swipe Right

2018-07-20-00-59-19_front

 

I had my internship in Thane for a month. And it had been two weeks. The weekdays were so busy and tiring that exploring places on weekdays was next to impossible. But, exploring people and their thoughts is relatively easier and more interesting because, for a foodie like me, you can go, meet a person sit with them, and talk while eating! Also, the kind of food the other person orders, the way they eat it, tells a lot about the person.
So, one fine day, I decided to meet one such person. I didn’t really know him, except his name, number and the fact that he’s a Sardar and pursuing his degree of B.A. Being a B.Tech student, I thought, I shouldn’t really judge someone based on their field of education, because well; my best friend is a B.A. student. So, I plan to go, meet him.
It was supposed to be a food date. My bad! The person turned out to be a non-foodie. And for my stereotypical brain, it was highly unacceptable as he was the first Punjabi Sardar, who happened to be a ‘not foodie’. While I was still trying to digest the fact, he opened his mouth and started talking. I thought, maybe he’ll speak out some great philosophy. But, facepalm! All he could talk about was his father’s money.
After a while, he changed the topic. He started talking about cars and bikes. I thought finally he was talking some sense. As soon as he started talking, I realized a piston which was a basic element of an engine for a person like me, was a very fascinating phenomenon for a person like him. That’s the exact moment, I decided to not swipe right anymore. Because, not all that glitters, is gold.!

Leave a comment