Am I Enough?

I wonder, am I enough? Have I done enough?

Growing up in a household like mine isn’t easy. Since childhood, I was raised like a fighter. Come what may, you can not breakdown. Of course, that’s really very smart of my parents but now it has positioned me in a very awkward way as an adult. I always wonder if I am good enough, smart enough, passionate enough, daring enough and it literally eats me up from within. Can I do anything about it? Not very sure. It is as though as if an integral part of me.

Well, I am what most parents would expect their children to be. Graduated with an engineering degree, working in a reputed company, earning decent bit for a beginner, paying when my family buys something and saving money. But, are my parents proud of me? Probably not. The issue here is, I have no idea what my parents’ expectations are. Until my graduation the taunts were about how I do not even have a degree, when I started earning, the taunts were shifted to how what I earn is peanuts. Mind you, according to some stats that I came across, my salary places me within top 10% people in my country, yet I am not good enough.

Hoping and wishing the best for your child is one thing, and creating new taunts once they’ve crossed their milestones is another. I really hope, someday the parents of our society start understanding their children as human beings with feelings!

Leave a comment